What to look for in a used oxy acetylene torch?

/ What to look for in a used oxy acetylene torch? #1  

woodlandfarms

Tractor
PowerTrac 1850, Kubota RTV x900
I need something to cut steel. Was all set to get a Plasma and then see that a lot of people think it is not a great idea, or that a torch is a better idea unless I am loaded.

So, Looking on Craigslist and see a few, some with bottles. Not a clue what to look for or consider...

I have never had a torch, and only own a Lincoln tombstone welder that I am still learning.. It was an easy purchase. Not much to go bad on it...

Carl

/ What to look for in a used oxy acetylene torch? #2  
Best if you can try it out .I like the full size Victor with the trigger on the bottom.Personal choice. You can get combination torches. That is welding and burning. Stick with a brand name like Victor ,Harris, Or the the only decent knock off Uniweld (Victor clone).Most guys don't really like the Smith torches.You can get different size tips for around $15 each.Gauges
should look decent.And the torch shouldn't leak anywhere or look like it got hot.Get flash arrestors that fit on torch.If you get bottles with it they should not have a company name on them or you can't get them filled, up here in Canada anyways.Remember they need a retest, I think every five years.Oxy /acetylene can be used with propane with just a tip change. However I don,t think it worth it but lots of guys do.

/ What to look for in a used oxy acetylene torch? #3  
How thick is the steel you plan to cut? Plasma is pricey but leaves a near finished cut. You can save a lot of post-cutting dress time with plasma. O/A is a cheaper investment start up but you'll go through a lot of oxygen if cutting on a regular basis. Then there's the time you'll spend dressing the cut (grinding). As already mentioned, stick with brand names when buying used. Parts are still readily available if you have to replace tips or valves.

/ What to look for in a used oxy acetylene torch?