Whats best tractor for my situation?

/ Whats best tractor for my situation? #1  

Josh52

I am pretty new with tractors but I just bought 80 acres, 40 of it hay and 40 corn. My wife has 5 horses and i plan on getting into cattle, I won't be getting a tractor till next year because I am currently in Iraq and won't get out of the army till next spring. I don't know much about tractors but I have operated heavy equipment in a limestone quarry. I do want a tractor with a lot of power and would like it to operate well with a loader. If anyone could help me with what brand of tractor and a price that would be great. Looking to buy new.

/ Whats best tractor for my situation? #2  
Hi Josh52 Welcome to TBN!!

Thanks for what you do in the military it is appreciated!!

I don't know alot about corn but for hay I would look at a 70hp or better tractor depending on alot of factors. What type of land do you have? hills flat ect...
What size bailer do you think you would like? Usually most folks recommend you get a list of the chores you plan to use the tractor for and which attachments you will need then get a tractor to match.

Chris

/ Whats best tractor for my situation? #3  
I am pretty new with tractors but I just bought 80 acres, 40 of it hay and 40 corn. My wife has 5 horses and i plan on getting into cattle, I won't be getting a tractor till next year because I am currently in Iraq and won't get out of the army till next spring. I don't know much about tractors but I have operated heavy equipment in a limestone quarry. I do want a tractor with a lot of power and would like it to operate well with a loader. If anyone could help me with what brand of tractor and a price that would be great. Looking to buy new.

With that much acreage in crops, you're out of the utility tractor size and into the ag tractor range. The minimum setup I would be looking at would be an ag tractor with at least 90 hp (pto), 4WD, and cab.