Wow do I have a lot of questions (MF50E)

/ Wow do I have a lot of questions (MF50E) #1  

iamgroot

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 50E, Cat 22
Hello to all. First post and hope I'm in the right place.

I own a steep piece of property with a 1/2 mile + long road that is in REALLY bad shape. I finally bought a tractor, two days ago, a Massey Ferguson 50E Power Shuttle with a Gannon box. It has a little less than 4,000 hours on the meter. The guy I bought it from said it has no known problems. I know nothing about tractors, but I am an auto mechanic by trade so I guess you could say I'm somewhat mechanically inclined. I did order an operator's manual, but it won't be here for a few days. Last night after work was my first attempt at grading my road, and I must say it went pretty well, I'm very happy considering I've driven a tractor with a box scraper before. However, I'm very nervous about using the tractor for several reasons. One is I don't trust the gauges. Funky green and red electrical things that I have no idea if they actually work. The last thing I want to do is over-heat this thing. I want to change them over to mechanical gauges that read in real numbers. I'm guessing this won't be too hard???

My other concern is the hydraulic fluid for the rear of the tractor. For the FEL the filler is on the right side frame, it is easy to check and it is full. But where do you check the fluid for the transmission, rear axle, and TPH? I'm concerned because there are times when the power steering stops working. It has always been when going up hill. It feels like it may be starving for fluid. So I don't want to drive it until I check this, but it is VERY difficult not to because it is so much fun!