Yellow deck STX38 transaxle input bearing

/ Yellow deck STX38 transaxle input bearing #1  

drabe1

Tractor
john deere STX38
I recently acquired a yellow deck stx38 with the Peerless 920-017. There was a whining noise from the transmission whenever the clutch was engaged. I found that the pulley for the input shaft transaxle was loose. I pulled the transaxle and found the pulley was trashed and there is up and down play in the shaft no side to side play. The thrust washer was worn and it looks like the bottom clip has worn away and the bearings feel gritty though there is no play. How bad of a job is it to change that bearing and is that up and own play bad? I'm very new to the lawn tractor world

/ Yellow deck STX38 transaxle input bearing
Drabe,

Welcome to TBN.

Here is a transmission from sears, not quit the same part number, but it may work for you.
PEERLESS TRANSAXLE Parts | Model 9244 | Sears PartsDirect

You say the pulley is bad, is it the pulley of the input shaft that is bad?

Richard

The pulley for the input shaft had gotten loose and egged out the hole. I can move the shaft up and down but there is no play side to side. The bearing feels tight but I think the seal failed, because when turning the input shaft it feels and sounds gritty

/ Yellow deck STX38 transaxle input bearing #4  
I think you are going to have to pull the transmission apart. The bearing is most likely a needle bearing and will need to be pressed out and in. That will require the transmission to be torn down. You will also need to make sure you use the special peerless (bentonite) grease. If the shaft was moving up and down you will probably find that there's damage to some of the gears inside. You should be able to find used parts on ebay or a used transaxle for it. It really comes down to what you want to spend.

/ Yellow deck STX38 transaxle input bearing #5