your thoughts please.

/ your thoughts please. #1  

aebsmithcreek

Bronze Member
Tractor
John Deere 5105 MFWD
i have been wanting a older tractor for quite awhile but really just dont know enough about them to feel comfortable buying one that would be my only tractor to rely on. now that i have a newer diesel with less than 900 hrs on it to rely on and have convinced the better half it would be a good learning experiance for the future needs of the JD i would like to have an old tractor to learn some of the skills and techniqes i have been reading about here. based on the following what would you reccomend.
my skill level-have worked on mechanichal systems such as a/c compressors rebuilding top ends, basic wrenching we all did coming up cause we couldnt pay someone. i am fair with stick,mig,and brazing, i own the old standby lincoln tombstone 225 a/c and have access to a miller trailblazer w/ hi freq box and tig torch though i'm not good with it. general mechanical work on conveyors, hydro gate operators,pumps,pretty varied array of electrical componets,motor starters,etc. i would describe myself as having more skill than knowledge or confidence with tractors

would like to have diesel but may go with gas if benefits are great enough.
parts readily available and preferably economical ut i know thats a stretch
simple and basic-translate-easy for the beginer to work on:thumbsup:
hyd lift 3pt/pto
it would be used for small ag ops, harrows,plows, cultivating, hilling and i have a planter i might use on it.
any suggestions will be appreciated.

thanks.

earl.

/ your thoughts please. #2