My Welding Projects

/ My Welding Projects #1  

duanew1

Silver Member
Tractor
Yanmar YM2001
First. I am new to welding. I have wanted to learn welding for a while now. I looked into some other cheaper options specially harbor freight and 120v migs. But my wife suggested I get a better one. I believe that she was right. I began looking at the Everlast iMig 140 E. I read many of the 120 volt threads and decided that I was going to need something a little more powerful. I decided on the Everlast Power iMig 200. It was on sale at Amazon and I have some gift cards to use. I really liked it had a readout for volts and wire speed. Also like the versatility of being dual voltage and stick weld capability. The only thing I don't like about it is that there is not a chart on the inside two tell you the starting point for settings. That is my only problem right now. Otherwise I believe this welder will last me a while.

A started off by ordering the wire to make a pig tale to connect my welder. I thought about adding a 240 volt outlet below the breaker box in the garage. I was going to need an extension cord anyway. This is the way I went. I ordered 40 feet of 10/3 SOOW wire. I went to Home Depot and picked up the appropriate connections for than cable to connect to the dryer connection in the garage. I will be able to change the connection end later when I move to house, so this will have future use. The cable is shown in the picture below.