Powershift

/ Powershift #1  

Jtullis13

Platinum Member
Tractor
Yanmar YM2210D & YM 155D
I know I have started a few threads recently, but I am new to TBN, been here since February this year. I do a lot of research before I post, but I am always eager to get someone else's perspective too. So here it goes. I have ym2210d and love it. As in my other threads I've started I'm going to get another tractor for my aging parents to use at their acreage. My question is how many of you here on TBN have ever had a Poweshift problem, minor or major? I currently don't have any issues with mine. I am considering another 2210d or the 2000d. I hurt don't want to run into any problems with the Powershift that will cost me in the long run. So any known issues from anyone out there? Thanks

/ Powershift #2  
I have a YM14 with power shift and it's been faultless. I just wish my 1500 had it too! :(

/ Powershift #3  
What I've seen reading this forum since 2003: The general consensus is that Powershift is bulletproof. Almost no problems reported.

I recall a couple of cases where flushing dirty fluid and filters was needed to restore proper function.

Also a couple of cases where a pressure relief spring broke. Inexpensive, easily accessible, but hard to diagnose until a dealer posted describing what was wrong and what it needed.

And I think one case where the driveshaft from the clutch back to the transmission got stripped, I suspect by shifting the PS at full throttle on pavement.

A couple of owners have asked if a gear whine is normal, but not related to any problem.

And that's it. I don't recall a single other description of a problem in 13 years.

I usually use the clutch to soften a shift under heavy load, to reduce stresses, but this may be unnecessary.

/ Powershift #5