Kubota engine difficult to turn over when cold (not battery)

/ Kubota engine difficult to turn over when cold (not battery) #1  

Furu

Veteran Member
Tractor
Now I am not an expert on diesel engines but I am constantly learning. This is another opportunity, I hope.

I have Cummins, Perkins, John Deere (when they still made their own) and a Kubota diesel engines. Question/issue is with the Kubota (49Hp).
The Cummins and the Perkins all have timed relays running the glow plugs. The John Deere and the Kubota are timed by the operator.

Now this issue has existed since I got the equipment back in 2014. Not something new. The OEM told me just use whatever GP time was needed to get it to turn over.
I have always thought the Kubota had a battery that was a bit undersized by the OEM but that is what they installed so that is what fits and is in use. The battery tests good and has a full charge when this happens. If I run the GP for the recommended 10 seconds cold weather, most of the time it barely turns over 1/2 to 1 turn then the starter chatters as if it does not have adequate battery power. If I then run the GP another 10 seconds it will normally crank and start. Occasionally it still barely turns over then chatters. After the third 10 seconds the engine turns over and starts fine. Yesterday this was repeated so that I eventually had 60 seconds on the GP. Yes I know that is a lot.
Other than burning out the GP what is the issue with excessive use?
Assuming it is not the battery and if it was why would it be fine after multiple attempts to turn over and multiple GP drains?