Foods you ate growing up that most folks don't eat today

/ Foods you ate growing up that most folks don't eat today #41  
I miss eating the difference between bulls and steers.
The Big Texan in Amarillo...the best I have ever eaten, and you get a big plate full!

/ Foods you ate growing up that most folks don't eat today #42  
You can’t grow it in east Texas? I grow it in New Mexico. Is it too hot or humid where you are?
It doesn't like the heat. I have a friend who is a PhD in Bio...from SD, but lives down by Austin. He can grow a lot of stuff, but Rhubarb just doesn't work here. I've tried 3 times. Mom has a strain taken from her mom. We have grown it in other places up north, but it will not take here.

Most of NM is in zone 7 (or less). Only the panhandle of TX is zone 7. Most of the state is 8-9.

If you have extra, hook a brother up!

/ Foods you ate growing up that most folks don't eat today #43  
Not a food but Fizzies. A fruit flavored alka selser type tab we put in a glass of water. Closest we got soda pop.

Awful stuff...
LoL...We used to have contests to see who could keep one of those Fizzie tabs in their mouths the longest...!

/ Foods you ate growing up that most folks don't eat today #44  
Jiffy pop...

...hang a unopened jiffy pop on the wall for a redneck fire alarm...!

/ Foods you ate growing up that most folks don't eat today #45  
Pickled Pigs Feet
Ployes
Cretons
Peanutbutter and fluffernutter sandwitches

strawberries and creme

Mailhot's out of Lewiston makes a passable cretons, but it's not like there are many options if you don't make your own.

As for a Fluffernutter, I don't understand it, but my children have no interest in even trying one. 🤷‍♂️