M9540/9960 PTO Brake Problems

/ M9540/9960 PTO Brake Problems #1  

SDT

Veteran Member
Tractor
Multiple Fords and Kubotas
I own a 2015 M9960.

Today, I was at my local Kubota dealer investigating bat wing mower options.

While there, I noticed a split M9540 in the shop. As it turns out, the 9540 had been split to repair/replace the PTO brake. I inspected the damaged parts and learned that the failure was catastrophic.

After speaking with the service manager, I learned that there is a known problem with the PTO brake in 9540 and 9960 tractors with serial numbers prior to (at least) 62438. Of course, my 2015 9960 with about 46 hours but out of warranty on elapsed time, is prior to the SN break.

Apparently the PTO brake design is not robust enough to withstand PTO disengagement with a substantial inertial load connected (bat wing mower, etc.). After inspecting the damaged parts in my dealers shop, I agree. FWIW: I was a design engineer for GM for many years and a failure analysis engineer for the last couple of years before retirement.

Kubota has made changes to the PTO clutch/brake assembly subsequently to SN 62438 (edit: typo). Apparently, this is a known issue. Repair parts for tractors prior to the SN break result in an order of a "service pack" PTO clutch assembly, without detail of changes made therein.

Relatedly, I was informed by my dealer's service manager that Kubota does not recommend operation of bat wing mowers with 9540/9960 and related tractors due to this design defect.

WHAT? There is no such notification of bat wing mower prohibition in any of the related Kubota marketing literature. Indeed, there are multiple photos of similar tractors pulling bat wing mowers.

FWIW: I am currently in the market for a 12' or 15' bat wing mower for use with my M9960.