Modifying Existing Grapple to Finer Grade Rock Bucket/Screener

/ Modifying Existing Grapple to Finer Grade Rock Bucket/Screener #1  

JohnnyMX

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota MX5200
I have a grapple that has been my best tool at getting rid of some of my rocks when breaking ground. I wanted to see if I can build something that I can remove to keep the weight down for larger trees/brush or put on for getting rid of my rocks. The grapple bottom spacing is 8" at the moment and it looks like the rock buckets are around 3" for fine screening. I was thinking about using angle iron and either rebar or expanded metal to reduce the spacing and then just put something to clamp it on to hold it. Cutting out slots so it sits on top of the grapple and is easy to remove.

Not sure rebar is strong enough or not or what size expanded metal. I get a lot of sod/weed mat too, so wasn't sure if that would hand up in expanded metal. I am still a beginning welder. Anyone ever do this or have a better idea for quick-n-dirty?

Attachments

• wr_long_obg2.jpg
    wr_long_obg2.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 119
  • wr_long_obg2_2.jpg
    wr_long_obg2_2.jpg
    165.1 KB · Views: 122
  • wr_long_obg2_2 with addon.jpg
    wr_long_obg2_2 with addon.jpg
    277.4 KB · Views: 126
   / Modifying Existing Grapple to Finer Grade Rock Bucket/Screener #2  
I picked up some powder coated parts from fab shop this week. They also do laser, water jet and plasma cutting. Dove their metal scrap dumpster for some drops. They get 0.09$/#. They had large sheet stock with various part cutout patterns that could work as a grid. See the same stuff at the scrapyard usually roughed up and 0.30$/# for carbon, $1.25/# for SS or aluminum. For me walking a scrapyard is fabricator imagination therapy.

I used quarry screen for my grill guard. Tough woven wire that comes in different mesh. Made for screening rocks. Never bought from metal supplier but others have said it was available.