Buying Advice Out of State Sales Tax Confusion

/ Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #151  
When you buy something in another state at wall mark do you get confused?

/ Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #152  
I'm ready to purchase another new tractor from a dealer in PA, I live 150 miles away in MD. We are relatively close on pricing, but I'm now told that if I pick the tractor up there (which I'm ready to do) , I have to pay PA sales tax (even through I'm a MD resident). They further state that If they deliver it to me (~$800) then I have to pay MD sales tax. Does that sound right? has something changed recently?

If I pick the tractor up in PA and pay their sales tax, I may also be liable for my own state's tax when reporting my 2020 Fed/state taxes and effectively pay 2x the sales tax.

I've purchased many vehicles, tractors, etc. out of state, and worst case on a 'registered/tagged' vehicle they collect MD sales tax and remit on my behalf to my state. Best case, on an item that is not 'registered', they collect zero tax.
??

thanks
you have to pay sales tax. It's the law.

Last edited:
   / Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #154  
153 posts and there’s still confusion?

Must be a home schooled group

/ Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #156  
Like many answers in life...it depends.
Yes, some people actually think about and discuss things rather than accept what is doled out by their masters. :unsure:

/ Out of State Sales Tax Confusion #157  
Confusion reigns because it absolutely varies by State. And thee Federal Constitution guarantees free trade between States.

If you go across state borders, you hit a gray area. If I go to Montana to buy things, I’m supposed to keep track of how much I spend on purchases in Montana. Then when I do my Idaho income taxes I’m supposed to report how much I spent, and pay the 6% Idaho sales tax on that amount.

Right, that is going to have a high level of self reporting.