Rotella vs Mobil

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / Rotella vs Mobil #21  
I agree with Skyco. He is talking time to temperature. I think youre talking time til it runs smoothly. You could consider that "time to warm up"...,but not exactly.
larry

I'm no expert but here's the scenario, my truck has a high idle when the temps are low so it idles up to about 1000 rpm til it gets to temp. When running with dino oil it takes longer to get to temp than with the syn. I also runs smoother faster with the syn. I just picked up a edge insight monitor and I'll be able to get actual temps rather than the dummy gauge on the dash.

Matt;)

/ Rotella vs Mobil #22  
sarg, many smart people would agree with your choice of product and schedule, and in fact a few would say that yours is the best program.

I never subscribed to extended oil changes, or even going the recommended interval, we all are in the severe category, or 99% of all of us anyway.

Change early and change often, wise words, synthetic does offer benefits, but in the end, 120$ oil changes ever 4k is kinda sorta nuts, its just that I cannot help myself-it makes me feel good, and perhaps that is really the reason why I, and others go synthetic.

Ok, please tell me how stopping my equipment and changing oil every other day is in any way "smart" or even possibly anything other than extremely foolish. I'm not trying to be sarcastic, but stated oil change intervals from the manufacturer is every 500 hours on most of my equipment. Even on the smallest diesel powered machines I own, zero turn radius mowers, the suggested interval is every 100 hours. To change oil every 25 hours is about equal to standing next to a fire and tossing $20 bills in every minute or so. My Cat diesel holds 40 quarts of oil. Change that every 25 hours, LOL! Sorry, but that's just not smart or reasonable except maybe in a 4 cycle weedeater that only holds 4 ounces of oil or something similar.

/ Rotella vs Mobil #23