If I was a barn builder

/ If I was a barn builder #1  

rustyshakelford

Veteran Member
Tractor
Deere 5100E/H260/MX15
I have recently had a 52x84 (40x60 enclosed) built. The entire process was a nightmare and terrible in nearly every way. This has me considering starting a pole barn or metal barn construction company. I loved the crew that came out and built the building and have started a relationship with the concrete crew that I found local to pour the slab. With those two contacts lined up I would need to align with a lumber yard and metal supplier. Besides the odds and ends like doors and insulation, what else am I missing? I currently work full time for a fire dept and part time for another one also. I'm sick of being in fire stations when I'm off from my full time job. This would be a great change in pace. I have a few questions before I invest more time or money in this. I don't want anyone else to go thru what I did and know we can do a much better product with excellent service.

In Texas, what are the insurance requirements? I would be using contractors for both crews. Is there an umbrella policy or just a general liability?

I'm pretty sure they don't have a GC license here anymore. Is there anything other license or cert I would need?

Some things I've airways decided to include would be to leave my dump trailer on site for all trash. I can't tell you how frustrating it is walking out and there's trash everywhere. Even in a pile, apparently it's the homeowners responsibility to haul it off? It would be way to easy to do that while there.

Much more to add but would love to hear questions or comments. I.e. What you would like to see with a barn builder. Ideally don't want to build more than 1.5 hrs from home so it would be easier to personally stay up with each shop.

Brett

/ If I was a barn builder #2  
The thing that caught my attention was leaving the dump trailer. Too easy to steal it.