The Log house Project begins........

/ The Log house Project begins........ #1,841  
One gallon per hour is a lot. Any chance of going to a vented model?

/ The Log house Project begins........ #1,842  
While I'm not an expert, your roof ridge already looks vented. How far apart is the tin where the two sides of the roof meet at the apex?

/ The Log house Project begins........
#1,843  
Rick,
Is your 1.5" thick decking that you milled that is your inside ceiling in the vaulted area of the house ---- tongue and grooved?
Ron

Nope, they are regular store bought pine 2x10's.

#1,844  
One gallon per hour is a lot. Any chance of going to a vented model?

Yeah that might be close to how much a hot shower or bath put's in the air. If indeed it is the ventless...it's going to be replaced with a direct vent model. I am sure I can scrounge one up that will fit in that antique mantel.

Obed, there is about 8" between the panels at the ridge...plenty of unrestricted room.

/ The Log house Project begins........ #1,845  
Nope, they are regular store bought pine 2x10's.

Are you seeing any shrinkage between them yet?
It would be interesting to check the difference in room temperature at normal thermostat level ( about 60" off the floor ) and what the temperature is up near the top of the ceiling at the ridge when you are heating the cabin? Some folks use ceiling fans to help circulate the heat back down to people level, but that doesn't work real well with vaulted ceilings.

I'm not sure I buy into your moisture problem theory being from the unvented heater.
We are already adding many gallons of water per day via a humidifier to our ( electric heat pump heated ) house to not be chilly at 72 degrees on the thermostat. WE are still only in the mid 40's for relative humidity inside the house.
Do you have a relative humidity meter/gauge in your house to see what your relative humidity runs with and without the ventless heater running for a day or so?

Ron