10' rotary pull mower behind a JD 4520?

/ 10' rotary pull mower behind a JD 4520? #1  

rhomium

Fairly new to the forum, but I see a lot of you guys do quite a bit of mowing. Those that have 8'-10' mowers, how much hp does your tractor have pulling it? I have 13 acres of grass and alfalfa to mow, and I'm thinking of going with a 10' rotary pull type behind my '07 JD 4520, 45 PTO HP. Good idea or bad?

Thanks for any info.

JP

/ 10' rotary pull mower behind a JD 4520? #2  
The general "rule of thumb" seems to be that you need about 5 HP per foot of cutter. But more importantly you need to watch the weight of the cutter because it sticks out so far to the rear. Make sure you have the loader on or plenty of front ballast to safe. Wheelies are no fun on a tractor:D

/ 10' rotary pull mower behind a JD 4520? #3  
I pull a 10' Bush Hog behind my Ford 4610 which I think is a 52hp pto tractor. I'm not very experienced with tractors, mowers etc., but my gut tells me that my 4610 has the minimum pto hp you'd be happy with hauling a 10' mower. My mower is heavy and has a big gearbox that really lugs the tractor down at startup. My tractor has to work pretty hard when I get in really thick, heavy grass. I think your tractor can probably handle a 7 or 8' mower, but the 10' might be pushing it. I also have a Kubota L5030 and use a 7' 3pt mounted mower on it. It works well.

/ 10' rotary pull mower behind a JD 4520? #4