3 Point hitch air compressor

/ 3 Point hitch air compressor #1  

hydrovane218

This is just a quick question regarding pto driven air compressors.This whole question comes about mostly because I have been servicing industrial air compressors for 13 years now and recently bought a 3203 John Deere.
Has anyone not had the need for real(20+cfm @ max 175psi) compressed air out in an area where 230v power is not easily available? ie. using air tools to make repairs out in a field or in a shop where a tractor could get to but without sufficient electricity? If so, have you spent the money and bought a gas driven unit for approximately $2000+?
I did a bit of a search and didn't come up with anyone making anything like this.(If I missed the boat on this one, enlighten me)
I am partially through a build of a unit using a (rebuilt 10hp offshore copy of a good old American pump-because I have enough parts to do this cheaply right now) and figure that at standard 540 rpm PTO speed, this setup will deliver slightly over 20 cfm at up to 175 psi.(All only using approximately 5-7 hp of PTO power. I am thinking that even if I got these pumps new, and not going large scale production(which probably won't ever be necessary), I could sell them for somewhere in the area of $1,400, and with this pump, at that speed, it should go forever.(considering that the gas driven units drive the pumps at around 1,100 to 1,200 rpm.
Just a curiosity that needs to be addressed.

/ 3 Point hitch air compressor #2  
I hope you build if for no other reason than it sounds cool and would make for a neat set of pictures.

/ 3 Point hitch air compressor #3  
hydrovane218 said:
This is just a quick question regarding pto driven air compressors.This whole question comes about mostly because I have been servicing industrial air compressors for 13 years now and recently bought a 3203 John Deere.