4 Cylinder Gas Engine No Spark- Help, Please

/ 4 Cylinder Gas Engine No Spark- Help, Please #1  

MossRoad

Super Moderator
Tractor
Power Trac PT425 2001 Model Year
I have a 4 cylnder gas engine in my IH2500b. I am getting no spark at the plugs.

I pulled the plug wire that goes between the distributor and the coil off the distributor end and layed it near some bare metal and cranked the engine. Nothing.

I measure 12V from the + terminal on the coil to ground and on the - terminal to ground when the key is in the on position.

I have the ignition side wire going to the + terminal on the coil.

I have the - coil wire going to the distributor.

I've changed the coil and still have no spark coming out of the coil and all the same measurements as listed above.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

/ 4 Cylinder Gas Engine No Spark- Help, Please #2  
I'm not a mechanic but if I understand you correctly, you have juice TO the coil and no spark. You then swapped coils, and STILL no spark.

Have you checked your wires to see if you have an internal break in the center coil wire? (coil to dist)

Frustrating I know. Good luck

/ 4 Cylinder Gas Engine No Spark- Help, Please #3  
I am no mechnic, can't even spell it. The input to the coil must pusate via the points or electronics inside the distubter as the cam rotates, meaning you must be trying to start the machine while checking. As for your check, you need to leave the spark plug wire connected to the distrubter cap and hold the other end close to ground to check for spark out of the coil. I'ts very simple and you will get the understanding if you just keep on trying....Luck be yours and please keep us posted teddy

/ 4 Cylinder Gas Engine No Spark- Help, Please #4  
take the dist. cap off,with ign. on spin it over. should have a spark at the points. if not its most likly points

/ 4 Cylinder Gas Engine No Spark- Help, Please #5