Anyone else favor older tractors to newer ones?

/ Anyone else favor older tractors to newer ones? #1  

Mikefromcny

Bronze Member
Tractor
White 2-65, Kubota B9200
I spent part of the day working my '86 White 2-65 tractor. It's a very used tractor from a friend's farm I purchased a few years ago. Lots of oil leaks, 1 brake pedal stiff, not much of the electrical works, bucket needs to be rebuilt, however I am looking forward to slowly sorting out the problems, and making it 100% functional. I also own a Kubota B9200 in nice shape.

I've thought about buying a new 35hp tractor to spoil myself, but can't justify it. I've never purchased anything new worth mentioning.

Part of the problem that discourages me is the more complex electronics and plastic construction..like hoods and fenders and what not. I will say a had the controller in my 15 year old Bobcat skidsteer fail, and that was a $1200 fix at the dealer :(.

I guess one thing that makes me feel this way is I'm a equipment tech for a living.

Just curious night there was anyone else out there like me.

/ Anyone else favor older tractors to newer ones? #2  
I spent part of the day working my '86 White 2-65 tractor. It's a very used tractor from a friend's farm I purchased a few years ago. Lots of oil leaks, 1 brake pedal stiff, not much of the electrical works, bucket needs to be rebuilt, however I am looking forward to slowly sorting out the problems, and making it 100% functional. I also own a Kubota B9200 in nice shape.

I've thought about buying a new 35hp tractor to spoil myself, but can't justify it. I've never purchased anything new worth mentioning.

Part of the problem that discourages me is the more complex electronics and plastic construction..like hoods and fenders and what not. I will say a had the controller in my 15 year old Bobcat skidsteer fail, and that was a $1200 fix at the dealer :(.

I guess one thing that makes me feel this way is I'm a equipment tech for a living.