Best set-up?

/ Best set-up? #1  

Song Dogger

Tractor
Bobcat ToolCat 5610G (2019)
Newbie here, looking for the best fit for my situation.

I currently use a John Deere 3046r (46 HP) utility tractor with a 7 rear blade to plow snow on a 1-mile well-crowned gravel road with huge borrow ditches. The rear blade doesn't have the height or the reach, so I'm forced to ride the ditch edge to try to get the windrows into the ditches. Still, over time, the windrows narrow the road and I'm forced to push them into the ditch with my loader bucket - position at an angle, push to the ditch, back up, repeat over and over. Steering is part of the problem. The back tires have LaClede V-bar tire chains, but chains on the front could tear up hydraulic hoses on sharp turns. I've tried filling my bucket with rock for added steering traction, but it's not much help. Bottom line, I've slid into and got stuck in those ditches more than I care to admit. I've not tipped yet, but man, it's been close.

Other things I do with the tractor - hauling/spreading piled materials, grapple hooking downed trees, rotary mowing, towing, rear blading, and landscaping. I'll use my rear mounted Lorenz snow blower only when necessary, because slowly driving backwards for hours and replacing shear pins is time consuming. So, other than the snow plowing/blowing issues, this tractor handles my tasks pretty nicely.

Here's what I'm debating for the optimum set-up. I won't say money is no object, but if there's real and significant improvement on snow removal, maybe I can rationalize the expense.

Option 1) Skid steer - I consider this overkill, and I'm not fond of how they tear up the ground. I do little digging, dozing, or loading trucks. My lighter duty tasks doesn't seem to warrant one, plus I'd have to replace my adequate PTO implements with more expensive, heavier duty ones.