Best Tool for the Job??

/ Best Tool for the Job?? #1  

Snapper Head

Silver Member
Tractor
2010 Kubota L3940 HST-3
Hello All,

New member here, very soon to be new tractor owner.

I should start by clarifying - I am not looking for brand advice or to start a war:D

I do need some help in selecting the best type of tool, not the brand. I have operated tractors before, so am not a total newbie, BUT, I have not owned one before, so I am all ears.

The deal:

Just signed a purchase contract for Snapperhead Farms. The best part of this is that now I HAVE TO :D:thumbsup: buy a tractor.

About 12 usable acres. 5 already in pasture with new fence. Will crossfence this piece. Row planted pine tree grove on another 3 acre section, with trees being about 10 years old. Plan to take most of these out, pature and fence. Thick hardwood stands across back of property with steep drop down to small creek. Will clear some of this area, but not put in pasture. Plan to purchase another 8 acre adjoing piece of uncleared land as well. Will keep 6 - 8 head of prize Arabian horses. Will be handling large round bales of hay.

So, I'm thinking 30-ish HP, 4WD Diesel, Hydrostatic Trans, power steering; front loader; 3 point; box blade; broadcast spreader; disc; bush hog (have a new lawn tractor for grass work near the house and barn); industrial tires.

Go ahead and blast away - I learn best while being beaten up:D:D

Big Al

Last edited:
   / Best Tool for the Job?? #2  
Doesn't sound like you are too far of except for the round bales, we used a much larger tractor to handle ours. Just spend some time checking spec sheets to narrow it down and then spend some time looking at them on the lot. Also check with your neighbors to see what they are using.

You are wise not to tie yourself to one brand as there are many very good machines of all makes. Wish I could be of more help.

/ Best Tool for the Job?? #3