Bushhogging

/ Bushhogging #1  

Tdawg

Hi Guys,
I'm thinking about getting rid of my skid steer and moving into the tractor world. I have a one man contracting business and I'd like to add a line of work that would help defray the cost of the new tractor. I've done a lot of bushogging in the past and I really enjoy it. Does anyone have any tips on breaking into the business? It seems to me that the customer base would mostly be developers and municipalities (or am I wrong on that), just wondering how you guys got your foot in the door.

Thanks,
Terry

/ Bushhogging #2  
I have no experience with this, but remember reading some old threads on this you might find by using the search function. I haven't made ANY money with tractors in years.

Good luck.

/ Bushhogging #3  
Most of the right of way mowing here is done by large contractors with fleets of tractors and employees. The municipalities generally have their own mowers and crews. The small time mowing operations that are left over have fierce competition and are not very profitable. There are a lot of small "farms/farmers" with tractors and rotary cutters that will work for minimal amounts to bring in some pocket cash.

/ Bushhogging #4  
One of the quickest way to tear up a tractor, is brushhogging on unfamiliar ground. I found this out the hard way, by running over a metal T post and busting a rear tire. The property owner said " Well I did'nt know that was there".

/ Bushhogging #5  
I own and operate a mowing business. We do all sorts of work. From Highway right-of-way mowing, to large acreage properties for a variety of land owners. I've mowed for real estate developers, home owners associations, legal conservators who're managing property for elderly in nursing homes, and even just plain ol' Joes who own a few acres but don't have their own tractor.