Buying tractors online.

/ Buying tractors online. #1  

Spentit

Bronze Member
Tractor
Mahindra 2565 with hoe, Case 530 back hoe, Hyundai180 LC-3 excavator. Love my Hoe's!
I'm sure this subject has been broached before but everyday is a new life's lesson. I got my diploma today. I recently bought a Mahindra that was advertised online through Tractor house. Great site with clear pictures an detailed descriptions. Only limited by what the seller wants to share. I have no beef with them. I found the tractor I wanted and contacted the seller. The seller was a bank, no problem the banks own everything. There were plenty of pictures in and out any damage was pointed out and and documented. I want it. Catch, its 1300 miles away. Some more discussions about availability, history and the like. I was planning on renting a truck driving down and bringing it home. Renting a truck is another posting all together. Not a bad experience but pricey for a tractor the size I was buying. So I thought I would drive down there check it out, meet a trucker and everything's good. I placed a request for a bid on a very popular shipping website. Customer service told me 24-48 hours I would start getting bids. Within 2 hrs I had a very good bid. After emailing back and forth for an hour or so I accepted the bid. Only catch...."Can it be ready tomorrow?" There it is that proverbial wrench. My plans were going haywire. What to do, wait it out and personally inspect tractor or trust in mankind and send the trucker over and pick it up. I wish I could blame my little head for my decision but he had nothing to do with it. My big head took charge and forged ahead. Take the shipping deal now, skip inspection in person saving me a 2600 mi round trip and "BELIEVE". With everything worked out with the bank and the dealer and "Lets get er done" attitude we plowed ahead. Honest Americans helping trusting Americans employing Americans. I could almost hear the National Anthem playing in the back ground.:da