Correct engine idle speed during warm up??

/ Correct engine idle speed during warm up?? #1  

jodebg

Platinum Member
Tractor
Kubota B-2650
Recently purchased a Kubota B7800.

What is the correct idle speed setting for winter warm up?

The manual says to set the throttle lever to the half way position
to start the tractor, but does not offer an idle speed during the warm up
phase.

/ Correct engine idle speed during warm up?? #2  
Some, including me feel starting at half throttle is not a good idea. I'm not that experienced but don't like the feel and sound of starting at 1/2 throttle.

My Kioti DK35 says to set the throttle lever to the "neutral" position. I THINK that means idle. Mine always starts fine at idle and I always let it run several seconds or more depending on the ambient temperature and sound. There is a definite difference in sound from first start to several seconds later. Once it is running smoothly I increase it to about 1200 RPM and let it idle there for the warm up period (again depending on the temperature).

In the snow season I start the tractor and do hand clearing of sidewalks while the tractor warms up(approx. 20 minutes).

/ Correct engine idle speed during warm up?? #3  
I start my Ford tractors at full throttle, then VERY QUICKLY slow them to 1,000 rpms. My Kubota likes to start more near idle, then I leave it at idle, but it is only 10 years old.

/ Correct engine idle speed during warm up?? #4  
i idle my tractor at 900rpms.thats the throttle pulled down as low as itll go.

/ Correct engine idle speed during warm up?? #5