Hydraulic winch and other general PT usability questions

/ Hydraulic winch and other general PT usability questions #1  

2manyrocks

I have no first hand experience with PT, but would like to know more. I became more interested after Moss Road posted his video of using his PT-425 front brush cutter.

I have a situation where I'd like to clear a fence row of trees that range in size from 5 inch to 20 inch diameter. The area is pretty long, but maybe only 20-25' wide before it starts going up a hillside. I could get a forestry winch for my Kubota L2501 for about $4,500 and winch the trees out using re-directs, but tend to think it would be awkward maneuvering in this area.

Generally, I'm wondering if the PT 425 would be easier to turn in an area like this than my L2501?

Looking at the Power Trac options, I see there is a 2 ton hydraulic winch available, but I couldn't find any information about actually using it. What I'd like to do is to use the winch to make sure the trees fall in a direction where I can more easily cut them into sections and either drag them out or use a grapple to move them out of the way while I clear this long fence row.

Another potential use case would be to cut a hillside with the brush cutter where I have not been comfortable using the L2501. I was thinking the lower center of gravity with the PT would be better.

Not really wanting to spend more than I have to. I see the PT 425 is about $16K. I'm not sure about having a gas 25hp engine. There's a video on YT of a PT going up a hillside where it looked like it briefly ran out of power.

Another option would be a used Toro Dingo, but price wise, it still looks like a new PT 425 could be less expensive considering the cost of buying a brush cutter, grapple, and winch.

I haven't seen any used PTs for sale in middle Tennessee lately. I don't really want to rent something because this project will take a while and I'd want to do it on my own time schedule.