Informed opinions needed

/ Informed opinions needed #1  

mike5.56

I've been threatening to buy a tractor for over two years now. After going through three moves, trying to build a house and finally buying a house out of frustration with the building industry, I'm settled in a nice place 20 minutes from my land, and am ready to pull the trigger on a tractor. My two finalists are the John Deere 990/4005 with 300CX loader and MX6 bush hog for $22,100 not including tax, or a Kubota L4400 HST with LA723 (I think that's the correct number) loader and Landpride Medium duty bush hog for $22,193 not including tax. The gear version of the L4400 is $600 less than the HST. Both are available with 60 day financing, JD with no down, Kubota with 15%.

Any opinions from owners/operators on either of these two are appreciated. I don't think I'm comparing apples and oranges here, but I haven't found a match for this size in these two manufacturers other than these. Both dealers are local to where I live, both have mobile repair and will come get the tractor if it breaks beyond the capabilities of their mobile unit. JD has a flat fee, and Kubota is an hourly. My property is 30 minutes from each. The JD warranty is somewhat better covering the entire tractor/loader for 3 years/2000 hours, and the Kubota is 3 years on the drivetrain, two on the loader and other tractor systems and two on the bush hog gearbox.

I am very nervous about going into debt right now, since I have none but my house, but I think prices will probably get much more expensive over the next two years. Locking in at 0% is virtually free money, and appealing from that standpoint.

Thanks in advance for the answers.

/ Informed opinions needed #2