Is this normal?

/ Is this normal? #1  

RSR

Platinum Member
Tractor
LS XR4145HC
I just got my new LS XR4145HC last week. Full disclosure: this is my first tractor, and have only run a couple other tractors in my life ... so, despite what I may "know" from reading on here, I have very little to no practical experience.

When operating the 3pt hitch, it seems very jumpy/jerky. This is based on a John Deere I have rented, and a friends B-series Kubota. I've attached a video below. It doesn't seem bad on the video, but it's much more noticeable in person. If I move the lever quickly to a set location, it moves smoothly. However, if I try to feather it and slowly move the lever, it jerks like crazy. The video is with the tractor at idle. If you bring up the RPM's, it shakes the whole tractor. Interestingly, it seems easier to feather/control when running it with the lever at the rear of the tractor, as opposed to the lever in the cab (???).

Here's the full history of the machine. The dealer installed a 3rd function and grapple, plus a rear snowblower with hydraulic chute rotation. The tractor came from the factory with fluids. After running the rear hydraulics on the snowblower, the dealer said he topped off the Hydraulic fluid with Wolfshead. He did not, however, run the 3rd function hydraulics/grapple. After receiving the tractor, I ran the 3rd function hydraulics. At the time of delivery, they were jerky, but with the excitement of a new tractor, getting everything unloaded, etc. I forgot to ask the dealer about it.

The next day, as I was going over the tractor checking everything, I checked the hydraulic fluid and it was at, or slightly below, the low mark. Not having access to the original fluid, or Wolfshead, I topped it off with John Deere Hy-Gard. It took about 3 quarts to bring it up right to the top of the full mark.