Looking at a LK3054

/ Looking at a LK3054 #1  

To20Chris

Platinum Member
Tractor
LK3054
Hello - I 'm new on this forum, but I’ve been reading for several weeks - it's a great place to learn! This first post may get a bit long & rambling, so I’ll apologize in advance! I've been shopping for a CUT for a couple of months, and almost bought a B7610 Kubota (very good local dealer), but got cold feet due to the light weight & ladder frame.

Initially I really liked the CK20HST, but it seemed down on power (on paper), and the dealer is ~30mi. I looked at MF 1423 & 1428v & thought they were noticeably poor quality, so I finally went to look at the Kiotis. I am very impressed with the quality & I really liked the CK20HST, I think it has it all over a B Kubota. However, it seemed a little slow, like I could feel the power loss, although the one I drove had something amiss with the pedal, so that may be coloring my opinion. I’ve also never driven a Hydro, and running it at a constant RPM seems slightly strange. I also drove an LK3054 (not an XS), and it seems like a great machine, but I had not researched that model & now I’m trying to get up to speed. I’m used to an old Ferguson TO-20, so frankly the crowded operator station and stick on the gearbox don’t bother me, but I’ve got a couple of questions:

1. Has there been any history of lack of hydraulic pump volume, or clutch problems, or did they just beef this up in the XS to keep up with the Kubota Ls?
2. I’m ignorant about the shuttle gearbox. I liked it a lot, and it had a more direct connected feel that the hydro (gee, what a surprise!), but I’m getting lost in the terminology. What, if any, is the difference between synchro shuttle & what is on the LK3054?