MF 165 Engine Break Down - Comments welcome Please

/ MF 165 Engine Break Down - Comments welcome Please #1  

dmark1975

Tractor
MF 165
Hi all,

I have attached some pictures of my MF165 (1974) which I have stripped the engine down to investigate oil coming out of the exhaust during operation. Any comment welcome on the pictures to see what you all think. There was no oil or water mixing in cooling system or in oil. Do you think I need to keep going and strip engine further or do you think a clean up and seals will sort problem after I replace the seals on the valves?

Also what could I do to remove the rust and build up?

I will add I am no expert on any but am willing and able!
Thanks in advance

Attachments

• IMAG0309.jpg
    IMAG0309.jpg
    311.6 KB · Views: 391
  • IMAG0318.jpg
    IMAG0318.jpg
    302.5 KB · Views: 1,447
  • IMAG0327.jpg
    IMAG0327.jpg
    288.6 KB · Views: 499
  • IMAG0329.jpg
    IMAG0329.jpg
    992.4 KB · Views: 468
  • IMAG0332.jpg
    IMAG0332.jpg
    313.7 KB · Views: 468
   / MF 165 Engine Break Down - Comments welcome Please #2  
I wish you would have taken a picture of the the other side of the head showing the valves but other than that... awesome great pics.

When you say oil in the exhaust, do you mean its blowing actual liquid drops of oil out the pipe or is it smoking really bad.
Does it use alot of oil? How much do you have to add and how often?

Are you getting any blow by out the blow by tube coming off the valve cover? Is it spitting oil there or puffs of smoke, or nothing at all?

Since you have the head off, go ahead and break it on down and check the valve guides and see how much play you have in them.
I would almost take the head to a machine shop and have a proper valve job done on it but you can lap the valves if the guides are tight.
If you have never compressed valve springs and released the keepers, use caution and a good backstop as they can get away from you.