Need guidance on tools for constant snow removal

/ Need guidance on tools for constant snow removal #1  

Z-Michigan

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kioti DK5010HS
In a week or so I'm moving to a house with a 200' driveway in Michigan's Keweenaw peninsula. The area averages 240 inches of snow per year. Yes, really. Most of that is fluffy powder and the actual accumulation on the ground is generally not more than 36" or so.

I don't have a tractor yet but I think I'm buying a Kioti CK3510H (HST), which has 28 pto hp and a decent sized loader. I have several years of snow experience downstate with slightly larger tractors (Kioti DK40SE and previously a Deere 5105) using a rear blade and the loader bucket. That was in an area that got only 50-75" of snow per year. I found the rear blade to be fine with the typical 2-4" quantity of heavy wet snow, but with larger quantities of dry snow it was much less effective, and often the banks would be blown back across the driveway within hours. So in a harsh winter I used the loader most of the time, both for lifting snow and just pushing it. This worked OK. A handicap was that my driveway was 12" higher than the surrounding land so I couldn't push far off the driveway without risking getting stuck, and I only had the loader bucket so I couldn't push snow to the side while driving forward.