New mower time, what to get?

/ New mower time, what to get? #1  

hunt4570

Tractor
Grand L3540 ,724 loader, bucket, grapple and now forks also! And just for OP.. a pool!
Been mowing for years with a troybuilt 33" wide cut walk behind, it finally bit the dust the other day so I'm looking. I was all set to get another big walk behind, but the wife reminded me I wasn't getting any younger. I'll be 60 this fall and seeing as I've been using this last mower for 15 years, maybe its time to think about a sit down. The walker is ok for now but 5 years from now, who knows.. gotta think about this stuff now.
I dont like the little lawn tractor jobs and was pretty set on a zero turn mower. (just thought , budget around $2000-2500 ish). Then I was reading about the front deck mowers.. very useful for reaching under stuff like bushes and stuff, just like a brush hog behind the tractor..so I'm thinking about those too.
My place is mostly woods, with about 2 1/2 acre yard around the house, but I have lots of road frontage, almost a mile of it with your normal roadside ditch to mow so what are your thoughts??

Note: I just came across a John Deere F710 48" front deck mower that looks like its in pretty good shape for $2200, but I know absolutly nothing about them.. any advice on this guy? Looks like some pretty substantial equipment.

Thanks..

/ New mower time, what to get? #2  
I whole heartily agree, a front mount riding mower is the way to go.
I like the front mount mower because they are so easy to place the mower deck in the service position (flip up) to clean out grass clippings and to change blades.
Having the mower deck out front and the engine behind the operator, insures less heat flowing onto the operator from the engine, not driving through engine exhaust, and there's a sense of less engine noise too.
Maneuverability is usually pretty good with front mount mowers too.