PTO running everything

/ PTO running everything #1  

NeoFarmer

Tractor
UTB 445 DT
Hi!

First off, new to tractors, really new, not even that mechanically inclined YET!

So we bought a used tractor, 1989 UTB 445 DT w/FEL

The guy shows us how to start it and drive it around, after asking why the PTO is always running he says he hasnt figured that one out yet...

So now that I've gotten it home and I'm looking at how its running I've come to wonder about the PTO thing, as the lever he says "puts it in gear" is actually the PTO lever.

The PTO lever has three settings 1) Independant 2) center(off?) and 3) Synchronous

Now the tractor seems to NEED the PTO in the 1)Independant mode to do anything IE Run the loader or drive the tractor.

Is this odd? Seems odd to me... Has this guy jerry rigged his tractor in some fashion? I'm thinking of taking it back if this is the case.

I assumed the PTO was a seperate entity from the drivetrain and or FEL hydralics... But again I'm new to tractors.

Oh... and having the PTO lever in syncronous setting does nothing, cant drive or lift loader either.

Any ideas?

/ PTO running everything #2  
You may have to run the PTO to get the hyd. pump to function, and therefore operate the FEL (Front End Loader).

There may be a PTO clutch on that PTO shaft as well.

But does sound like something not working, and I'd suggest keeping your option open to "take it back".

/ PTO running everything
Hmm ok so the hydralic pump and loader ok but shouldn't I be able to drive the tractor without the PTO engaged? Thats not hydraulic no? hrmmm

Thanks for reply!

/ PTO running everything #4  
NeoFarmer: