TC35D - Weird Sound? (long)

/ TC35D - Weird Sound? (long) #1  

paccorti

Gold Member
Tractor
TC35D with 16LA Loader
As I was driving my tractor around recently I started hearing a weird sound. I'll freely admit I'm not an expert on tractor sounds. In fact it took me a while to get used to the hydro "moans" and other sounds. This sound is very different. It is clearly a mechanical sound (my best guess would be the sound of a bearing going bad). The sound is intermittent, it does NOT always occur. However once it starts it continues for quite some time. There is no one thing I can do that will produce the sound. All I am sure of is the sound only occurs when the tractor is moving. If the sound occurs (and it only occurs while moving) stopping the tractor will stop the sound. I might add the sound occurs even if the tractor is on level gound and not under any load (not pushing or pulling anything... just moving itself).

The tests I've tried:
1. Tried applying brakes (locked together) while driving - no weird sound occured
2. Sound occurs in high or low range
3. Stopping tractor immediatly stops the sound
4. The sound definitely happens going forward; not sure about reverse
5. PTO can be on or off and the sound occurs
6. Sound occurs in 2wd (have not tried 4wd)
7. Steering angle does not seem to affect the sound (going straight or sharp turns, sound continues)

The dealer has offered to send someone out to have a look. I appreciate this. I'm having them hold off for just a bit. I'd like to have something more concrete to tell them than, "It makes a weird sound while moving sometimes." Additional tests I want to try.

8. Does pressing the hydro pedal harder/softer affect the tone of the sound?
9. Does increasing/decreasing engine RPM affect the tone?
10. Try sharp slow turns with left/right brakes engaged to see if sound changes (this is similar to test 7 just more extreme, this would allow me to check the outboard rear axle bearings)