The future of tractor design

/ The future of tractor design #1  

beemerphile

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota M5040
I am a retired engineer and have spent many years around hydraulic production machinery - particularly plastic injection molding machinery. Towards the end of my career most of the machine companies were tending towards fully electric machines rather than hydraulic. The advantages were numerous. Electric presses can now provide hundreds of tons of pressure. The machines are fast as a cobra and almost totally silent. A conventional molding machine sounds like a hydrostatic tractor. I got to thinking about whether an analogous trend was possible with tractors. Servos replace cylinders. Stepping motor drives replace hydrostatic drives. Transmissions become unnecessary (which was the main objective of the diesel-electric locomotive many years ago). The tractor's motor, rather than turning a large hydraulic pump would be direct-connected to a large electric generator. Individual electric wheel motors would allow computerized differential speed at each wheel during a turn to minimize wheel spinning or turf damage. Four wheel steer, crab-steer, or anywhere from one to four wheel drive are easily implemented. Self-leveling a loader would be done by programmed control. An implement could be programmed to lift or stop during a turn or reverse maneuver. PTO's could run at constant speed, set to any desired speed, or could be programmed to follow ground speed.

/ The future of tractor design #2  
oh cool!! i did not want to get too far over my head :laughing:

/ The future of tractor design #3  
One big difference is a tractor has to be mobile, stationary stuff you can just plug in. A tractor would have to carry batteries.

I suppose if you could figure out how to mount them up it could just be ballast but imagine trying to get the hay in before a storm and having to shut down for a day for the batteries to recharge!

/ The future of tractor design