The real hazards of bush hogging blind in hilly country!

/ The real hazards of bush hogging blind in hilly country! #1  

kapper

Silver Member
Tractor
Branson 7845C
Here is a recent video that I made of a VERY near tipping incident I had a few days ago. I have plenty of experience, not rookie error, but this stuff happens real fast
especially when you are bush hogging new ground. Thanks.

/ The real hazards of bush hogging blind in hilly country! #2  
Perhaps it was being distracted by making a veedeeooo that almost caused the problem? Perhaps if people would concentrate on the task at hand?

/ The real hazards of bush hogging blind in hilly country! #3  
Don't work in unfamiliar terrain. Do a careful walkabout, looking for hazzards. Maybe some people don't want to get off their tractor. Laziness??

/ The real hazards of bush hogging blind in hilly country! #4  
Don't work in unfamiliar terrain. Do a careful walkabout, looking for hazzards. Maybe some people don't want to get off their tractor. Laziness??

Some times it's simply not possible to walk-around on unknown terrain. Yet, the job still need to get done.

In this case in particular, there was a hidden 6 ft diameter well. Fortunately, it was closed with a cement lid and I was aware of its existence, just didn't knew the exact position. It's common to find open wells hidden in the brush.

IMG_20180714_122506.jpg

/ The real hazards of bush hogging blind in hilly country! #5  
Or sometimes you don't look for something you don't expect to be there. I crumpled my stairs on a stump that was obscured by weeds. But, that's exactly why you should!

The best thing in some circumstances is to have a spotter walking in front of you.

/ The real hazards of bush hogging blind in hilly country! #6  

So the commercial contractor who is clearing 17 acres of land should walk it all first? In a grid pattern or what? Not practical and not laziness.