wd 45

/ wd 45 #1  

funny farmer

Silver Member
Tractor
ford 4000
I hope this is the right forum for this.

A buddy of mine brought home a wd 45 the other day. The first thing he broke was the shifter. The shifter would move around, but it was stuck in 3rd gear. The guy that he got it from said that sometimes it does that. I removed the 6 bolts on the tranny cover, made sure the stick was in the 3rd gear position, picked up the whole assembly, and set it down in place. Somehow whatever was disconnected was fixed, so I tighten the bolts back down, and told him not to do that again. So what is really going on in there? I'm assuming that its between the shift lever and the fork, but it doesn't look like I can get in there and fix anything. Is there a way to fix this? For some reason just because I own a couple of tractors and make some hay, he thinks I'm a mechanic too. I'm handy on some things but I don't know anything about these old tractors.

Next thing, I can't figure out how to get his 3 pt. to work. The lever that suppose to operate the 3 pt. is hooked up to a loader,and all it does is raise and lower it. He wants me to put a dump on his loader, but I don't think there's any way to do it. I can't even get the 3 pt. figured out. I did watch some videos on utube, and I'll go back over there later to look it over again. For now I'm stumped.... Maybe there's only so many things that you can do with these older tractors.

/ wd 45 #2  
First, getting stuck in between gears is common on older 45's tell him to be very definate in his shift pattern and slow. We owned a CA and a WD 45 both had the same problem when they got older.

Second, the 3 pth is not factory. The WD 45 had a coupler system and only took AC equipment that needed to be lifted. Many people altered them to make 3 pht though. I have no idea who to operate one without the other.

Don

/ wd 45
Thanks for the reply.