What size I-beam?

/ What size I-beam? #1  

sandsw

I am going to be building a wood splitter and am wondering what size I-beam I need? I am going to be using a 5" cylinder and will be putting a log lift and log table on the end of it. I am a mechanic and pretty good welder but am not familiar with the rating of steel to order. I know I need a beam that is at least 6" wide but not sure what grade I need. Any help is appreciated.

/ What size I-beam? #2  
I think my I beam is a 4" x 8" some times it will twist some if it is a really trough split, but does fine, (it could be a 10")

/ What size I-beam? #3  
I would go wider than a 4". It will give you a wider "ledge" to put the log on.

Most commercial splitters use a 7" beam, but usually not an I-beam. Just 1/4" plates welded to form an i-beam.

Something along the lines of an 8"x 6-1/2" or 10"x8" beam should suffice with no worries

On wideflange beams, they name them by

W...stands for wide flange
#
#...inches of depth

x

#
#...pounds per ft

So I would reccomend something along the lines of a W8 x 28 or W10x33

That is a wide-flange 8" depth and has a weight of 28lbs per foot.

I-beams are NOT sized by flange width. You can look up the specs online, but for example, there are about 6 different beams that fall into the 8x8 size. They are 31,35,40,48,58,and 67 lbs per foot.

Here is a good site for getting physical sizing, but as far as load capacity, theres a WHOLE lot of calculations involved. Steel I Beam, Wide Flange Beam, S, Jr., WF, details, sizes, dimensions, beams

There are twisting forces, as well as the shear tonnage of the ram. and it isnt a direct perpendicular load to the beam. So the calculations are hard to figure. That is why most are just made pleanty big with room for error.

/ What size I-beam? #4  
I was told to use an H beam for mine so that the channels were straight and not tapered like an i beam. Mine is 8" wide and 6 feet long. Im using a 24" long x 4" wide ram.

/ What size I-beam? #5