Why I should never be allowed to do anything....

/ Why I should never be allowed to do anything.... #1  

GeauxLSU

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L3130
... especially if I have little to no experience with it. Can't recall the last time I used a grease gun. Attempted to grease the tractor today for the first time (bought it on auction with under 20 hours and it now has 30 hours on it). Bought a gun and on the FIRST fitting it wouldn't come off. Called a friend with much more tractor and mechanical experience than I'll ever have and asked if there was something I was doing wrong. He immediately said "It's a new gun isn't it?"
Me - "Yep".
Him - "They do that until they break in. It'll just take some force."

Well, you see the results. Not the threads at the top. Completely BROKE inside the gun. Any great ideas how to get it off now? :confused:
It took a LOT of force to break it (obviously) and it swivels and turns easily so not sure how I'm going to get it off of there now... :(

P1010041.jpg

/ Why I should never be allowed to do anything.... #2  
Is the tip adjustable? Most grease guns I've used you could adjust the tip of it by turning it.... righty tighty, lefty loosey!

/ Why I should never be allowed to do anything.... #3  
You may have trouble with a greasegun but you take a great photo.

I would try visegrips at the base of the shaft and use it like a lever to pull straight up.

/ Why I should never be allowed to do anything.... #4  
Try both suggestions. Jay

/ Why I should never be allowed to do anything....
I'm not sure that I can get a wrench around the nuts now since I know it doesn't look it, but they are pretty recessed down in there. It took a LOT of force to break it (obviously) so I'm not sure if I just put a vise grip on it that I'll then be able to get enough leverage on it to loosen it.
To break it involved multiple efforts inlcuding in no particular order a 2x4 a mallet, a hammer, me lifting up with my shoulder on the 2 x 4 etc... :confused: