MIG or TIG: Which is better?

/ MIG or TIG: Which is better? #1  

kruss77

Bronze Member
Tractor
1995 CC 1864 Hydro
I know MIG and TIG welding both have advantages and disadvantages, but I don't know what they are. I did some basic TIG welding years ago when I worked in the tool trade, but never really understood why one would be chosen over the other. Can someone help me out with this?

/ MIG or TIG: Which is better? #2  
I know MIG and TIG welding both have advantages and disadvantages, but I don't know what they are. I did some basic TIG welding years ago when I worked in the tool trade, but never really understood why one would be chosen over the other. Can someone help me out with this?
MIG is easier to build than TIG. Very simple to build a wire feed unit. TIG requires feeding the filler metal by hand. MIG is fast, TIG is slower. MIG can be done by machine, almost all TIG is done by hand. MIG results in more metal buildup while TIG produces neater/nicer looking welds with less buildup. Both are the way to go, along with a good stick welder.:thumbsup:

/ MIG or TIG: Which is better? #3  
Different tools for different jobs. MIG is a general purpose welding process that is easy to learn. TIG is a more precise welding process that requires more skill to master. Over the years I have aquired all basic processes (O/A, Stick, MIG, TIG). Also with a addon of Plasma cutting. Although I have been welding for years finally made myself go take a college course so I can weld better and be able to use my tools more effectively.

/ MIG or TIG: Which is better? #4  
What the above posters said is definitely true.

Tig (GTAW) welding is a like welding with an O/A torch.