Stainless steel welding rods

/ Stainless steel welding rods #1  

WilliamTO-35

Silver Member
Tractor
1955 Ferguson TO-35
A couple of years ago, as a beginner arc welder, I tried several types of coated rods on mild steel , using my AC/DC arc welder. I found that, using a stainless steel rod ( ID number now unknown) , I was able to lay down some very nice looking beads . But, they turned out to be only about one half the strength of steel rods, such as 7014 and 7018 . I compared strength by doing butt welds on long pieces, and breaking them by hand . Are stainless rods typically that weak ? Thanks.

/ Stainless steel welding rods #2  
Don't know if they are weaker overall, but a 316 SS rod will weld high carbon steel without cracking, such as with farming discs.

It's been one of my go-to rods for years. I don't remember a failure where the rod material was too weak.

/ Stainless steel welding rods #3  
Don't know if they are weaker overall, but a 316 SS rod will weld high carbon steel without cracking, such as with farming discs.

It's been one of my go-to rods for years. I don't remember a failure where the rod material was too weak.

:checkmark:

/ Stainless steel welding rods #4  
U sure it was a stainless rod?

Alot of exotic "maintenance" type rods ate a stainless based. Harris super-missle is one that come to mind.

/ Stainless steel welding rods #5  
Stainless rods are pretty tough. Super Missile rod mentioned above has a 120K tensile strength. They could easily be more brittle though. The higher the tensile the lower the ductility. for instance 308 stainless filler metal has about 85K tensile. Still pretty ductile at that tensile so I can't imagine breaking the weld unless it was porous and cold. Try it again, you will likely see different results. Stainless is a favorite stick rod.. very nice to use.

/ Stainless steel welding rods #6  
U sure it was a stainless rod?