Disc Harrow Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades

/ Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades #1  

Weekend Strada

Tractor
Case IH JX75T
Newbie here. Bought a second hand 75hp. I reckon I should be getting a 16 x 24 disc harrow.

There is a great deal on a 20x24 second hand which I know is too much.

Any experience or recommendation if I can get the big harrow and remove 2 discs each row (one on both sides)? Thanks in advance.

/ Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades #2  
I don't know for sure, but I would try. Disks are priced very much to size and if you can get a bigger one cheap, go for it. Then you have SPARE disks and bearings too. Is it adjustable for angle of attack?

/ Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades
They're not, but the angle of attack isn't extreme. The way I was seeing it is that the frame would be big. But my guess is that the frame isn't as a problem as much as the friction of the disc into the soil?

/ Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades #4  
You often want EXTRA WEIGHT. People add all kinds of ballast.

I have a chunky 70 HP large frame JD. I am looking for a double 8 foot 3ph disk. For landscaping, the 3ph feature would be good, I think. Back up and lower if need be.

Got it. Let's see if I can close the deal then. Many thanks.

/ Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades #6  
Are you looking at a 20' disk for a 75hp tractor?

/ Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades #7  
Before you start tearing that new purchase apart - give it a try. You could be pleasantly surprised at what that big Case will pull.

/ Can I buy a big disc harrow and reduce by removing blades #8