Trick to keep quick connections locked together?

/ Trick to keep quick connections locked together? #1  

Snowlan

Silver Member
Tractor
Bobcat CT2025
I’m new to having a tractor and have discovered quick connect hydraulics can come apart very easy. One of the hoses to the backhoe shifted while in use, the fitting was sitting on the PTO cover and the edge of the cover put enough pressure on the quick connect collar when it shifted that it popped open.

It was one of the return hoses and it damaged the backhoe control block with too much pressure on the used oil discharge side (three hose system).

Anyone have any tricks to guard the coupling collars and prevent accidental release?

Last edited:
   / Trick to keep quick connections locked together? #2  
My take on hydraulic couplings is that I believe they are designed that way so that they will seperate in the event they need to, such as driving off with the hoses connected. I never have too much of an issue with them. Every now and then I won't get one coupled up completely and it will pop out when pressure is applied but once they are fully seated I have no issues. I would think if you are pulling one apart you may have a hose that is too short. It might be a good thing it did.

/ Trick to keep quick connections locked together? #3  
They don’t pop off easily. Only if they are housed in a certain type of snap ring enclosed housing will they pop off off pulled on by the hose. I drove off without disconnecting my 400lb grapple once, and they just drug the grapple across the dirt until I disconnected them. You have issues if yours just pop off.

/ Trick to keep quick connections locked together?
Lots of slack hose, as required to connect hoses before fully backing up tractor to connect backhoe. Used the backhoe all afternoon, next day, first move made on the backhoe popped the hose off (or popped off while driving tractor before the backhoe was used).