I have no idea what to buy

/ I have no idea what to buy #1  

mattnelsonesq

Tractor
Don't
Hey:

I am buying a property with about 1.8 acres of grass. This is my first time owning this much grass to mow and first time buying a ride on mower. Can anyone give me some directions on what the market looks like out there? What brand is garbage? Which is really high end but way overpriced? I live in SW Michigan which has a moderate amount of snow as well and the property is flat. Any direction is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Matt

/ I have no idea what to buy #2  
Hey:

I am buying a property with about 1.8 acres of grass. This is my first time owning this much grass to mow and first time buying a ride on mower. Can anyone give me some directions on what the market looks like out there? What brand is garbage? Which is really high end but way overpriced? I live in SW Michigan which has a moderate amount of snow as well and the property is flat. Any direction is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Matt
Be sure to check out our Compact Tractor Buying Guide article which is good for first time buyers.

/ I have no idea what to buy #3  
For just mowing… I’d get a ZTR.

I finish mow 2 acres with plenty of trees and a couple buildings, and I take my time. It takes me 75 minutes on my Hustler X-One 72”.

I really like the mower. It’s commercial duty with serviceable drive units and a commercial 29hp motor. It will outlive me, I’m pretty certain.

/ I have no idea what to buy #5  
Go for welded deck vs stamped deck. They all use the same engines from Kholer or Kawasaki. The ones I physically sat in (toro and cub cadet) both seemed equally solid. I imagine you'll be able to find a post/video for every model of mower that highlights an issue someone had.