Latest grab by auto manufactures

/ Latest grab by auto manufactures #111  
I've always given thought to switching to Linux, since I was a teenager actually, but it comes off as rather intimidating.
I worked in IT for over 25 years, as a UNIX system administrator, who was forced by mangagement to make WIndoze computers work with UNIX. While it could be done, 75% of my time was doing updates to keep Windoze running. When management opened the door too far, I left. From that time on, I worked for myself, doing computer installs and upgrades. While I dabbled in Windoze, when Version 10 came out, I had had enough and retired. I never regretted either move. When the early versions of Linux came out, I was all in. I have been using Linux now for many, many years and have never looked back. I converted my daughters, son, wife, and many others. As for intimidation, that is what Windoze is all about!

As for cars and subscriptions, the way to say no to that is not buy or subscribe. I too am looking for a much older vehicle for my next "new" car. Even if I have to pay $40K to find one! I can live without AC, PW, AT, etc, etc, etc. Some of us 'older folk' remember when there was no such thing, and we survived. AC was called '4-60'....4 windows down doing 60 mph!

/ Latest grab by auto manufactures #112  
My 85 Ramcharger has a module behind the glove box whose sole purpose is to turn on the check computer light after so many miles or hours. It was put in so you would have to return to a dealer to turn it off and while you was there, they could sell you service. By the way the truck dont have a computer.

/ Latest grab by auto manufactures #113  
I won't even rent Word or Quicken. I buy 10-year-old install disks secondhand.
Ditto here on the rental, I use the open source ones. Open Office for Word, don't know if there's a Quicken alternative tho.......M

/ Latest grab by auto manufactures #114