Wiring FIMCO 12V 40 Gallon 3 pt Sprayer L3940

/ Wiring FIMCO 12V 40 Gallon 3 pt Sprayer L3940 #1  

Maibox

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L3940; 1942 Farmall H (for sale)
I have about 3-4 acres of pasture and was in need of a very basic sprayer. I picked up a FIMCO 40 gallon 3pt sprayer on sale: Fimco 40 Gal. 3-Point Sprayer - Mills Fleet Farm

It comes with an 8 ft lead wire w/ switch to connect to the battery to power it. I don't think 8' is going to be enough. I would have thought the L3940 would have connector somewhere in back, but if it does, I can't find it and some time on this site and Google have yielded no help. I am looking for ideas on how to wire the sprayer short of getting a longer wire and running it to the battery. Caveat--I am a complete novice and I don't know a single person that would call me "handy" but I can follow instructions (which I always read), so I got that going for me.

Thanks in advance.

/ Wiring FIMCO 12V 40 Gallon 3 pt Sprayer L3940 #2  
On my L3400 (when I had it).. I found a work light lead on the back and wired to that with a waterproof 2 prong trailer connector. My tractor did not have the worklight, but it is just a kit, and a there is a "bullet" connector wrapped up with tape in the wiring harness so it is worklight "ready" . It is hot with 12 volts when the key is on and fused for 5 amps. My Fimco sprayer drew about 2 amps. Worked good and I could reach the supplied sprayer on/off switch from the seat.

James K0UA

/ Wiring FIMCO 12V 40 Gallon 3 pt Sprayer L3940 #3  
I mounted and wired a 7-way RV plug to the back of my L3940. The plug is full function, including constant 12VDC, which could power a sprayer (okay not brake lights or trailer brakes). Yes, I had to run a wire, but only to the starter, as the battery wire is already mounted to the starter. Install fuse, follow wiring harness to tail lights, and you are good to go. Philip.

Attachments

• TRAILERPLUG01.JPG
    TRAILERPLUG01.JPG
    834.9 KB · Views: 929