3040 and Shredder

/ 3040 and Shredder #1  

Woodsman30350

Bronze Member
Tractor
Montana 3040
I just installed a 5' King Kutter shredder purchased from Tractor Supply under their County Line Branding. Tried it for the first time and seemed to work okay but I experienced some vibration at lower speeds. I used the "Independent PTO" setting but I need to know if you actually run up the RPM's to the 540 PTO indicator on the tach. Seems a high rev to me but I am new to this. Is that the actual setting for shredder work?

/ 3040 and Shredder #2  
I just installed a 5' King Kutter shredder purchased from Tractor Supply under their County Line Branding. Tried it for the first time and seemed to work okay but I experienced some vibration at lower speeds. I used the "Independent PTO" setting but I need to know if you actually run up the RPM's to the 540 PTO indicator on the tach. Seems a high rev to me but I am new to this. Is that the actual setting for shredder work?

I most always run my 6' at 540 RPMS. It does seem high at first, I remember that but you get used to it and will find it cuts best at that speed. I have a king kutter that is branded as a Gearmore and the only time it vibrates at a noticible level is when the blades are stuck on the stump jumper, are they rusted maybe?

Out of curiosity are you using ag tires? I didnt think a 5' would cover the tracks on a 3040.

/ 3040 and Shredder
Not using Ag tires. I asked for recommendations on the shredder size on this forum and the concensus was that since the takeoff H.P. is 28, it could not handle a 5 footer. The King Kutter is brand new but has been sitting outside. Probably should oil the blade bolts.

Just to make sure, I run the shredder at the tach position marked by the 540 PTO indicator. Is that right?

/ 3040 and Shredder #4  
Yes sir, run your rpms at the PTO symbol, I find that medium range in third gear is a good speed for me.

/ 3040 and Shredder #5