A different View of Safety

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / A different View of Safety #1  

BrokenTrack

Veteran Member
Tractor
Tractors, Skidders, Bulldozers, Forestry Equipment
The topic of safety is an interesting one I guess, because I have a different approach to life...

I grew up riding the fenders of tractors, and my farmer-neighbors never once shooed me away, or even mentioned liability concerns. But then again, that is why I am a farmer, and mind you, not one with 2 goats and an apple tree either, but a real working farm. Still without those farmers back in the 70s and 80s letting me ride on their tractors all day, I probably would not have the love of agriculture that I do.

Today we shoo kids off tractors, and wonder why when they turn 18 they have no desire to work at all. Our goal as parents is not to coddle our children, but to teach them to be responsible adults. 200 years ago they were married and having kids at 15. Now they are not even "adults" at age 30, and we wonder why.

It is nice to see tractor manufacturers put buddy seats in cabs today, but good gracious man, the kids riding on tractor fenders today, will be the ones that feed us tomorrow. It seems people have forgotten that.

Incidentally, I do know what it is like to lose a son, but as you can see in the photos, now only having daughters does not stop me either, and at least one of my four daughters is headed into agriculture...

/ A different View of Safety #2  
I think you're leaving out the ones who couldn't grow up because they got plowed under.

/ A different View of Safety #3  
Broken Track, I wish more parents shared your views regarding parenting! Bob

/ A different View of Safety #4  
Having 5 daughters I can anticipate some of what you will be going through in the next several years (decades),
nice pics enjoy.

/ A different View of Safety #5