About a 501 sicklebar mower

/ About a 501 sicklebar mower #1  

CostaRica

Tractor
B6000, L3000 x2, L2500, JD1020
Hello all, I'm new to sicklebar mowers, but I bougth a used Ford 501 one several weeks ago, for a Kubota L3400, and I have a couple of questions,
1) Are they normally really difficult to attach, 'cause its taking me 2 persons and about 25 min. + attack tools to attach it to the tractor.
2) When I cut the grass for the horses, as I'm not in a hurry, I drive the tractor in 1 - 2 nd. gear, at about 1300 rpm and the tractor + mower seem to work super easy, it cuts good and the tractor feels like it has nothing on the PTO, but it vibrates, and if I go higher than those 1300 rpm, the engine+hood look like are going to vibrate off the rest of the tractor, is this normal or do I have to adjust something to avoid this vibration (the tractor lower arms are tight and the pto bar from the mower its 90 deg with the tractor)
Thanks.

/ About a 501 sicklebar mower #2  
We had a 501 mower when I was at home on the farm and it was difficult to hookup, if I remember correctly getting the stabilizers clamped onto the tractor lift arms was the hardest part.

Sickle bar mowers due to their design have a certain amount of natural vibration, but normally the vibration lessons at higher rpm's. Have you checked your pto shaft for loose universal joints ? Also check to be sure the shaft is not bent.

/ About a 501 sicklebar mower #3  
The 501 sickle mower attachment difficulty canbe greatly reduced by properly blocking up the attachment when disconnecting it.

Ben

/ About a 501 sicklebar mower #4  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( The 501 sickle mower attachment difficulty canbe greatly reduced by properly blocking up the attachment when disconnecting it.

Ben
)</font>