Anyone used a 3 point fence stretcher?

/ Anyone used a 3 point fence stretcher? #1  

petebert

Silver Member
Tractor
Up to this point I've always used some 2x4s with lag bolts, some chains and I stretch using my tractor. It works okay but I thought an actual fence stretcher bar would be nicer to use. Looking online I came across this 3 point that looks pretty awesome. Only problem I could foresee with it is that to unroll the fence you'd have to swing out away from your fence line and then steer the tractor back over to get the fence in place. This is assuming all your posts were in place first, but I can't think of any other way to do it.

tarter_wire_fence_stretcher_and_unroller_wfsy.jpg

/ Anyone used a 3 point fence stretcher? #2  
I use 2 2x4's with bolts thru them and sandwich the fence between them then use a nylon sling top and bottom and hook a chain hoist to it and get it sagged up, but if I put up field fence for a living I would definitely have one of the rigs that you have posted. Agri-Supply sells them as well, good luck. Charlie.

/ Anyone used a 3 point fence stretcher? #3  
Fence Unroller 001.jpg I built a similar unit to unroll, but for stretching, I use 2, oak 2 X 4's, with 6 bolts through them to sandwich the fence, then chain top & bottom, and pull with a HD 2 ton double dog come-a-long. I anchor to a tractor. I put my fence to the inside on my posts. I'd think it'd be tough to stretch to the inside, with a tractor, and get a nice even stretch all the way to the end, in one stretch.