Best used skid steers

/ Best used skid steers #1  

ric

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota 245DT and 175F
I have compact tractor I'd like to replace with a skid steer, but need some input on the best one to purchase and why.

I have several years experience with rented Bobcats which have all performed very well. However, Case, New Holland Deere and others all seem to make decent units.

I hear frequently that Case makes a good unit but have no experience with these.

Any insight, experiences, suggestions or opinions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

/ Best used skid steers #2  
I've used bobcat and the others but really love my Deere 250.
Being able to SEE out all the way around is a big help.
Deere motors set longways and the pumps are direct mount
unlike the cross mount and belt drive of bobcats.
The ease of maintenance and vision and quick-tach lock and
price makes it hard to use anything else.
Where are u at in OH?
I got mine from Shearers in Mansfield, good dealer and great
service.
They gave me a demo for 2 weeks and when my order was delayed past the date they told me it would be in they brought
another Deere then a bobcat /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif for me to use till mine came
in (3 weeks late).

/ Best used skid steers
I live just South of Marengo.

I have two friends who have newer Deere skid steers. They both really like their units. Both had Bobcats before and will never have another. Interestingly they both set out to buy something else and ran across these units and purchased them. I think they were planning to purchase Case or New Holland and ended up with a Deere. They use these in their business. Anything I purchase would residential use only. When I figured out what they probably paid for their skidsteers I decided they were too pricey for me.

Did you look at anything else before buying a Deere?

ric

/ Best used skid steers #4  
I looked at bobcat, NH, gehl.
My friend has a 943 bobcat and u need a mirror above your